Abu Dhabi Bound

This is not really official Trip of Excellence business, but it occurred on the voyage so I’ll go ahead and post.  After a series of misadventures (do I have anything else?) it definitely looks like I’ll be spending next years overseas in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.  I’ll be teaching one class a semester and acting as Assistant Dean for Curriculum at Zayed University.  It’s a great opportunity but I’m more than a tad conflicted about it – among other things, a lot of amazing friends in Burlington.  Sandy is really pushing me to go so that he can be the oldest member of the Gentlemen of Excellence, with all the rights and privileges related to the exalted position.  My friend Jyoti, the Dean at Zayed, and I finally hooked up on the phone and worked out most of the details.  So, it looks like the journeys are just beginning, and I do expect the Sage of Sayville to visit me in Abu Dhabi.

4 responses to “Abu Dhabi Bound

  1. Hello,

    I read your blog and I thought I would respond. I am going to be teaching in the UAE next year as well. If you would like to make a “connection” and “be friends,” please let me know. As I leave in early August and I’m trying to familiarize myself with things of the country. Sincerely, Ms. Christina Ann Murphy

  2. You think you’re a tad conflicted? Way to think about yourself.

  3. Kelly Jane Thomas

    Pshaw!

Leave a Reply

