Sandy’s Quest

Where to begin?  Well, probably the best place to start is with introductions.  My name is Gary Scudder, but this will not really be my story.  This is really Sandy’s story.  I am content to play James Boswell to Sandy’s Samuel Johnson.

Sanford Zale and I teach together at Champlain College in Burlington, Vermont.  For the last several years I’ve been listening to Sandy lament that he had only made it to 47 of the lower 48 states, having somehow managed to avoid Oklahoma.  And every year there was a new plan to drive to Oklahoma, all of which always fell apart for one reason or another.  I finally decided that enough was enough and told Sandy that I would assure that he made it to Oklahoma, even if I had to drive him myself.

And that leads us to this moment.  We’re taking off on Wednesday for our trip west into the heart of the continent, if not the heart of darkness.  What started out as a simple and whimsical idea has taken on a life of its own.  We now have our own blog for the trip (although I’ll also be posting material to my own blog – http://scuddertravel.blogspot.com as well) as well as a twitter account (@OKexcellence).

Our first stop will be Sandy’s home in Long Island where we’ll spend some time with Sandy’s parents, play minature gold with his nieces and drop off his cat Bacon (named after Sir Francis Bacon).  Then it’s on to Washington, DC where Sandy will attend his college reunion and I’ll spend some time with my friend Debi and her family.  After that we head west on US 50, but more on that later.

Right now the goal is to wipe that glum look off

Sandy Dreaming of Oklahoma

Sandy’s face.

2 responses to “Sandy’s Quest

  1. “Ali Hakim: I wanted to marry her when I saw the moonlight shining on the barrel of her father’s shotgun. “

  2. I am following this adventure closely.

Leave a Reply

